The 5 Love Languages

There is a saying that “Falling in love is easy, staying in love that’s the challenge.” Each of us has a love language that appeals better than the others. One that makes us feel like we are loved the most. Our love language is most likely totally different from our partners. I know ours are. If we do not understand our partners love language, miscommunication can arouse. Once we can understand our partners love language and our own, we can enjoy and have a long-lasting relationship.

We were given The 5 Love Languages book about a month before we were married as a gift to keep our love strong. A few weeks after we got married we decided to make it a night time routine to read before going to bed. What we did was one of us would read while the other one would give that person reading a back massage, then after a few pages, we would switch. So what are the 5 Love Languages?

Words of Affirmation, Acts of Service, Receiving Gifts, Quality Time, and Physical Touch

Words of Affirmation:

Verbal compliments or words of appreciation are a powerful way of expressing love. It is best to express these in positive, simple and straightforward statements.


  • “You look sharp in that suit.”
  • “Thank you for getting the babysitter lined up tonight. I want you to know I don’t take that for granted.”
  • “I love you so much.

Avoid statements:

  • “Can’t we ever have a decent meal around here?”
  • “I can’t believe you did that, what were you thinking?”

Acts of Service:

An action that lets the other person know you are there for them.


  • Changing the baby’s diaper
  • Washing the dishes
  • Paying the bills
  • Picking up takeout

Receiving Gifts:

Gifts are visual symbols of love. These gifts don’t have to be the most expensive gift you can find, they can be simple and thoughtful.


  • Leaving a box of chocolates
  • Coming home with flowers
  • A handwritten card.

Quality Time:

This is one- on –one uninterrupted time.


  • Washing dishes together
  • Planning a night out without the kids
  • Meeting him at the office for lunch
  • Going on a walk

Physical Touch:

Touching doesn’t necessarily have be sexually; it is any non-verbal use of body language and touch to emphasize love.


  • Holding hands
  • Kissing
  • Embracing
  • Sex

Don’t know what your love language is? Head over to the 5 Love Language website @ and take their online quiz. Or better yet buy the book so you and your partner can grow your love HERE.

Please follow and like me:


  • Maranda

    Never really thought about the love language, and the different ways to show affection. I have a very lovey husband and I wouldn’t change it for anything even though at times it does get annoying…lol

  • nicoleandthecouches

    My parents were big on the love languages when my brothers and I were growing up!! I have always been a quality time kind of person!!

    • TheMillennialMommy

      Mine is too! He doesn’t really express what he needs and totally put all of us before him. But now that I know his love language I can express it to him and make him as you said happy.

  • Kanani B.

    We LIVE by that book in our house. Or at least I do…lol. I always think about about our languages when me and the hubs are having a disagreement or we’ve ruffled each other’s feathers.

    • TheMillennialMommy

      My husband and I have totally different love languages and if it wasn’t for this book we would totally be lost. Who knew that we all have a certain love language? It is just so fascinating.

  • thesaltymamas

    I love this! I’ve read the version about children, and I feel like it taught me so much about my daughter and what she needs. I’ll have to read this version and apply it to my husband, too!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: